Providing resources and a network for Kansas to responsibly manage water

KsAWWA National and Local Awards

The following awards are presented by Kansas Section AWWA. For criteria, nomination, and more visit the links below.

KsAWWA’s Water Taste Test Award

The Community Relations Committee of KsAWWA invites all utilities to participate in the annual Water Taste Contest at the KWEA/KsAWWA Joint Conference.

Below are the rules of the contest. Entries must be submitted by noon on Tuesday the week of the conference, to Section Manager Hank Corcoran Boyer, at the conference exhibitor registration desk. Each entry will be logged and assigned an identifying number.


  • Personal attendance is required for the competition. Anyone from the participating utility may act as the representative for the utility.
  • One sample should be brought in a one-liter container, preferably glass. No markings should be on the container; the container will be marked at the conference with an identifying number known only to the KsAWWA Section Manager.
  • Samples will be served at room temperature.
  • All entries must have incurred no state or federal drinking water violations (MCL, monitoring, record keeping, etc.) during the previous year.
  • The previous year’s winner is not eligible to enter.

Contest Judging

  • The panel of judges will consist of KsAWWA, KWEA, and AWWA members.
  • Samples will be judged on a seven-point scale from best (1) to far from ideal (7).
  • Scores will be tabulated, and the winner will be announced immediately following the judging.
  • Only the winning sample will be announced. Samples will not be ranked nor will scores be released.

Previous Recipients

2022 City of Emporia
2021 WaterOne
2020 No Contest
2019 City of Lawrence
2018 WaterOne
2017 City of Iola
2016 City of El Dorado
2015 City of Iola
2014 WaterOne
2013 City of Olathe
2012 City of Emporia
2011 WaterOne
2010 KCK BPU
2009 City of Wichita
2008 City of Olathe
2007 City of Emporia
2006 WaterOne


KsAWWA’s Richard Porter Section Service Award

This award was established in 2006 in memory of long time member Richard Porter. The award will be given to a section member who has demonstrated support and commitment to the Kansas section. This commitment could be represented by the following:

  • An active role in one or more committees;
  • Participation in Section conferences or training seminars;
  • Demonstration of a friendly and welcoming attitude to new and current members of the section;
  • Service as an example to others of the role of the section as a leader in providing service and support to others in the water industry; and/or
  • Promotion of a positive image of the section.

Previous Recipients

2022 Jim Jackson
2021 Martha Tasker
2020 Jim Epp
2019 Lester Estelle
2018 Dr. Stephen Randtke
2017 Kurt Bookout
2016 Dan Defore
2015 David Waldo
2014 Garry Turner
2013 David Egger
2012 Jerry Blain
2011 Fred Douglas
2010 Don L. Gray
2009 Hank Corcoran Boyer
2008 Ron Rhodes
2007 Terryl Pajor
2006 Dick Pedrotti


KsAWWA’s Operator Meritorious Service Award

Award Criteria

The purpose of the Operator Meritorious Service Award is to recognize special performance in one or more of the following:

  • Continuous compliance with all public health standards in treated drinking water;
  • Consistent and outstanding contribution to plant maintenance thereby prolonging the useful life of equipment;
  • Development of new and/or modified equipment or significant process modifications to provide for more efficient and/or effective treatment;
  • Special efforts in the training of treatment plant operators;
  • Special acts not directly related to water treatment, but which demonstrate dedication to the public beyond the normal operating responsibilities; and/or
  • Consistent and outstanding contribution to the operation and/or maintenance of distribution lines, pump stations, and reservoirs.

Eligibility for the Award

Section members eligible to receive the Operator's Meritorious Service Award shall include any water supply or distribution individual who, during the time period of the meritorious activity, worked in any operations related capacity.

Entry Requirements

Submit to the section the full name and address and complete biographical information on each nominee on the entry form provided by AWWA along with supporting data concerning the meritorious service performed by the nominee.

Nomination Procedure

A nomination for the award may be submitted for consideration by any AWWA section member to the section Operator's Meritorious Service Award Committee.

Presentation of the Award

The award will be presented at the KWEA/KsAWWA Joint Annual Conference.

Previous Recipients

2022 Steven Hall
2021 Paul Crocker
2020 Rusty Tournade
2019 Perry Smith
2018 Joe Cribbs
2017 Jennifer Dixon
2016 Keith McAdoo
2015 Ron Wyatt
2014 Robert Simmons
2013 Steve Nirschi
2012 Kerry Peterson
2011 Alan Thomas
2010 Lester Estelle
2009 Chuck Weber
2008 Dan Defore
2007 Garry Turner
2006 Ron Snethen
2005 Phillip Cooper
2003 George E. Simanowitz
2002 Durward M. Johnson
2001 Charles Gray
2000 Ron Rhodes
1999 Jeff Arnold
1998 Gerald Blain
1995 Bruce Tate
1994 Dale McMaster
1993 Don Moore
1990 Don Silver
1989 Don Gray
1988 Michael Cavanaugh
1987 Alan Shineman


Water for People’s Kenneth J. Miller Founders’ Award

The Kenneth J. Miller Founders’ Award was established in 2001 by the board of directors of Water For People to honor outstanding volunteer service being contributed to this international humanitarian effort. This award is named after one of the founders and the first president of Water For People Kenneth J. Miller of Denver, Colorado. This award recognizes those who emulate Kenneth J. Miller’s example of self-sacrificing volunteer service.

Previous Recipients

2020 Tony O'Malley
2017 David Egger
2013 Gary Moxley