Providing resources and a network for Kansas to responsibly manage water

Terry L. McKanna Scholarship – Requirements, Criteria, and Application


The Kansas Section of American Water Works Association (KsAWWA) has established a scholarship fund entitled the Terry L. McKanna Scholarship Fund (TLMSF) for qualified students enrolled in an accredited college or university in the State of Kansas. Qualifying curriculum for scholarship applicants shall include courses related to civil or environmental engineering or environmental science with an emphasis on career fields associated with the Waterworks Industry.

The TLMSF will consider applications for up to two scholarships for 2022 in the amount of $1,000. The purpose of these scholarships is to encourage enrollment in educational studies related to career fields associated with the Waterworks Industry. Also, as an additional incentive to apply, KsAWWA will be awarding up to eight gift certificates in the amount of $25 to applicants who are unsuccessful in recognition of their time and effort associated with the preparation and submittal of application and essays.

Eligibility and Application Requirements

  1. The applicant must be enrolled in a two- or four-year accredited college or university program as previously stated.
  2. The applicant must be a citizen of the United States.
  3. The application (furnished) must be completed in full with a two-page (or less) typewritten essay, describing the applicant’s career plans. A recommendation from at least one professor in the applicant’s major field of study, such as a mathematics or science teacher, must be included with the form.
  4. The applicant may be a graduate or under-graduate student.
  5. An applicant receiving financial aid from the applicant’s employer which constitutes more than 50 percent of the applicant’s annual costs for tuition and fees is not eligible for scholarship aid from the TLMSF of the KsAWWA.

Selection Criteria

The following point system will be used by the TLMSF of the KsAWWA as the basis for selecting the scholarship recipient:

Evaluation CriteriaTotal Number of Points Possible
Relation of course studied to the waterworks industry 30
Essay on career plans 30
Grade point average 20
Recommendation by professor 10
Professional activities, offices held, and/or work experience 10
Total possible points 100

In the process of awarding scholarships when multiple candidates are available, the applicant with the highest point total shall be preferred.


Deadline: July 1, 2022

One AWWA Operator Scholarship – Requirements, Criteria, Application

The One AWWA Operator Scholarship is funded through the support of AWWA's The Water Equation Campaign and the Kansas AWWA Section.


AWWA’s The Water Equation Campaign and the Kansas Section will award two scholarships in the amount of $1,000 for water operator training and education. Scholarship can be used for certification/licensure, two-year water related associate degree, four-year water-related bachelor degree (non-engineering), technical school program, professional training program, books and manuals, and operator related conferences. Each scholarship recipient will receive a one-year AWWA Operator membership.

Eligibility and Application Requirements

  1. Applicant must be a current water operator or seeking to enter the water operator profession.
  2. Applicant must be pursuing an operator’s license or certification, two or four-year degree related to the water operator profession, or professional development.
  3. Disbursement of the funds will be made directly by the Section to the financial office of recipient’s college, university, or technical school.
  4. Items related to books, manuals, conferences, professional development courses, and other eligible expenses will be reimbursed to recipient upon presentation of eligible receipts.
  5. Applicant must reside or work within the geographical boundaries covered by the sponsoring Section.
  6. Acceptance of scholarship constitutes permission to use recipient’s name and scholarship story for purpose of promotion.


Applicant scoring will be based on the following criteria:

  • 25% − Qualifications
  • 25% − Essay and Résumé
  • 25% − Financial Need
  • 25% − Reference Letters

Deadline to Apply: January 1, 2022

Upcoming Water & Wastewater Operator Workshops

KsAWWA Leadership Development Program


The purpose of this program is to facilitate member development for leadership roles within the Kansas Section AWWA (KsAWWA) and/or our parent organizations AWWA. KsAWWA desires to establish mentoring processes to enhance member benefits, sustain strong leadership for KsAWWA, and expand networking opportunities for our members.

Our mentors are current and past members of the KsAWWA Board of Trustees, Directors, and Committee Chairs.

The Leadership Development period will have a term of approximately one year beginning at the KWEA/KsAWWA Joint Annual Conference and ending with the following annual conference.

Mentees' activities will include attending Board of Trustees meetings, committee meetings, schools, workshops, seminars, and other activities as opportunities arise and the schedule allows. The mentor will use those opportunities to introduce the mentee to other members, discuss with the mentee how the activity supports the mission and goals of KsAWWA, and the process for getting engaged and becoming part of that activity. The mentors will share their experiences as a member and leader of KsAWWA and how they have benefited from that experience.

Eligibility and Application Requirements

  1. Applicant must have an interest in water operator profession;
  2. Applicant can be attending college, university, or technical school or working in the utility field;
  3. Applicant must reside or work within the geographical boundaries covered by the sponsoring Section.


Deadline to Apply: July 31, 2021

Announcement will be made at the annual conference.